Our Mission

The mission of the Hawaii Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons is to:

Aid and encourage those actively engaged in the practice of osteopathic medicine and surgery in the state of Hawaii to maintain high standards of osteopathic practice;

Collect and disseminate information for the education and improvement of the profession, as well as, encouraging active participation in the legislative process to advocate for our patients and our profession, and to promote opportunities for fellowship among the osteopathic community in the State of Hawaii; and

Support and encourage AOA CME activities and programs in the state of Hawaii.

Board of Directors



Spencer Lau, D.O. 

Honolulu, HI

Vice President

Sharon Hiu, D.O. 

Honolulu, HI


Terri Kakugawa, D.O. 

Kapolei, HI

AOA Delegates

Jone Flanders, D.O. & Christopher Flanders, D.O.

Honolulu, HI

Immediate Past President

Les Barrickman, D.O. 

San Luis Obispo, CA  

Past President, AOA Delegate

Ron H. Kienitz, D.O. 

Kailua HI